Miscellaneous · Uncategorized · West Indian Life

You can’t pour from an empty cup

“You can’t pour from an empty cup”. Most of us have seen this quote floating around on the internet, but what does it really mean? The literal interpretation seems very obvious; if a cup is empty you can’t get anything from it. However, for the sake of this blog post we’ll focus on the figurative meaning.

“What’s the figurative meaning?”, you ask? Well I take it as ‘if you’re low on energy you won’t be able to help those around you’.

Too many times we forget this. We forget that we’re human beings and we need the same love and attention we give to everyone else. How many times have you listened to your loved ones’ problems? How many times have you felt abandoned when you needed them to reciprocate?

We give, and we give and never get, until it seems like there’s nothing left to give. Until you feel empty and hollow inside. In my short time on this earth I’ve come to realize that you can’t wait for someone to fill you up. You have to do it for yourself dear.

I’ve learnt that lasting happiness and fulfillment comes from within, not from other people. People can make you happy, I don’t discount that, but LASTING happiness comes from your own internal joy.

You don’t have to do big things to make yourself happy. Have you ever heard “it’s the little things that count”? Well guess what? It works when you do it for yourself as well. I’ll even list some of my personal favourites.

1) Eating ice cream and cake for breakfast. It’s naughty but it makes me feel so good.

2) Turning off my phone and reading a few chapters from a book. Usually a book I’ve already read as I know for a fact there will be no ugly surprises.

3) I play with my makeup. I usually swatch shiny eyeshadows and go “waaaaw” even though I’ve worn them several times before. I’ll even try on a few lipsticks.

4) Jam to upbeat music on my ipod and dance like a crazy person. This is my personal favourite because it gets my blood going. Sadly it’s no longer a viable option as my ipod kicked the bucket after 7 long years of faithful service.

*Send me a new Ipod Lord*

So you see, it doesn’t take much to “fill up your cup”. If you want to be of service to people, start by being of service to yourself.

Please comment below and tell me your favourite things to do when you need a pick me up. Don’t forget to like my blog post and subscribe!

Leave a Reply

